Blakeney, Pillowell and Walmore Hill Community Schools' Federation


Curriculum Subjects

Introduction to Curriculum


Our curriculum consists of the National Curriculum core and foundation subjects, which are taught through a relevant, contextual and inspiring creative curriculum.

In addition, we also provide as many 'extra curricular' activities as possible, to supplement the excellent teaching in the classrooms. These we call Enrichment Days

We are currently aiming to incorporate 'enrichment weeks' as part of curriculum development. Essentially this will allow pupils to develop their understanding of a particular subject, whilst having the opportunity to immerse themselves in an experience.

From time to time the children make a visit to form an experience first hand, and when we can visitors are welcome in our schools to promote both creative and physical activities.

This provides children with a strong grounding in a full and balanced curriculum across all subjects. However, many areas of our curriculum are taught through cross-curricular topics. This is a fun and engaging approach to learning and means that many of the subjects listed above are linked to a topic. Topics are wide and varied and include subjects such as 'Once Upon a Time', 'Towers Turrets and Tunnels', 'Rocks, Rumbles and Relics', 'Gods and Mortals', 'Amazing Me!' and 'Hola Mexico' to name just a few.

Planning the Curriculum

As all of our classes consist of more than one year group, planning the curriculum needs careful planning to ensure that there is adequate coverage, and in the right border. We call this 'Progression'.

Staff are skilled in planning their cross curriculum topics, taking into account the needs of all the children in their class. For this reason we operate a two year rolling program of topics to ensure that this progression and coverage is kept.

We like to look at our children as individuals and provide them with the support they need as individuals. This includes any child who has a specific learning difficulty or special educational need and any a child who is very able, gifted or talented.

The National Curriculum does not apply to pupils in the Foundation Stage. The curriculum for our youngest children is organised into seven areas of learning. These include: communication and language; physical development; personal, social and emotional development; literacy; maths; understanding the world and expressive arts and design.

By clicking on the subject buttons, you will be taken to a subject specific page, which will give you more details of what is need to be taught across each key stage, and when. This is taken directly from the National Curriculum

Assessment and reporting

Click on image below to see presentation